Marking Scales

From academic year 2018/19 all University assessments will be marked on a 0-100 scale (or a categorical marking scale aligned to a 0-100 scale). 

Description of the marking scale

From academic year 2018/19 Faculties and schools (other than the Schools of Medicine and Dentistry in relation to the MBChB and the MChD/BChD programmes) mark undergraduate and postgraduate modules, examination scripts and other assessed work on the University's 0-100 scale. The marking scale being used by your school is stated in your faculty or school's Code of Practice on Assessment. 

All assessed work is marked, within the relevant scale, according to the achievement represented.

Minimum pass mark for modules

The minimum pass mark for Undergraduate level 1, 2 or 3 modules is 40.

The minimum pass mark for taught Postgraduate level M modules is 50.

For further information about grading and marking – including progression and resits – please read the Rules for Award PDF.

Translating marks from the 20-90 scale (pre-2018/19 only) 


To standardise module grades, the 0-100 scale is used as the basis for degree classification and all grades which were marked on the 20-90 scale are converted to it.

The two scales correspond exactly between 30 and 80, which is where most of the students’ marks will fall.

To be able to use the classification calculator to estimate your final result, you will need to translate any marks awarded on the 20-90 scale to the 0-100 scale.  (See the Classification Calculator webpage for information and links to the appropriate calculator.)

This table shows how the two scales translate to each other.

Mark awarded on 20-90 scale Translation (0-100 scale)
20 0
21 3
22 6
23 9
24 12
25 15
26 18
27 21
28 24
29 27
81 82
82 84
83 86
84 88
85 90
86 92
87 94
88 96
89 98
90 100